President Trump Just Barred People From Several Muslim-Majority Countries From Coming To America

President Donald Trump on Friday signed an executive action expected to halt — at least temporarily — the resettlement of refugees in the US, as well as issuing of visas for travelers from several Muslim-majority nations.

The move apparently ushers in his campaign promises of “extreme vetting” and barring some people from entering the US based on their religion.

The White House did not immediately release the exact text of what Trump signed. But details of the executive action are based on the reporting of multiple newsorganizations.

Trump said he is establishing “new vetting measures” to keep “radical Islamic terrorists” out of the US. “We don’t want them here,” he added.

The executive action is expected to completely stop the resettlement of refugees from war-torn Syria — whose five-year civil war has brought on a catastrophic humanitarian crisis — and suspend the refugee resettlement program for 120 days so it can be reviewed.

Trump signed the action after his pick for secretary for defense, Gen. Games Mattis, was sworn into office. He also signed an action to “rebuild” the military, “a plan for new planes, new ships, new resources, and new tools for our men and women in uniform.”

The action is also expected to suspend visas to countries the administration deems “of particular concern.” Those nations reportedly include Syria, Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen.

Syria, Iraq, Somalia and Iran were all in the top seven “country of origin” for refugees admitted in the US in 2016.

[adrotate banner="3"]

The action is also expected to call for a significant reduction in the number of refugees, in general, that the US will accept in 2017 — from 110,000, as proposed by former President Obama’s administration, to 50,000. The US accepted just over 12,000 Syrian refugees in the fiscal year ending in September 2016.

You may also like...